Gummy Foot

Somehow, despite all of my efforts to normalize my children, I must have failed miserably.  This morning, my eyes were opened to a sad fact:  My daughter is unafraid of eating body parts.  Now maybe this is normal for a 3-1/2 year old girl, but this morning after breakfast, when my daughter asked to choose a piece of Halloween candy, the piece of choice was the “gummy foot.”  For those of you who haven’t seen a gummy foot, count yourself blessed.  A gummy foot is a flesh-colored squishy candy that has red coloring around the place where it must have been gruesomely disconnected from the rest of the gummy body.  Anna had the BEST time licking the foot, squishing it, making cute little comments like, “Mmm… gummy foot!”  (Deep sigh)  

In other body part news, Jason lost his first tooth a few days ago!  He was visited by the tooth fairy a day late, as she obviously didn’t get him on her list right away.  But the night after Jason lost his tooth, the tooth fairy gave him a dollar!  I now feel old.  I remember when you might get a quarter… maybe two quarters… for a tooth.  I’m sure my parents used to think, “I remember when I only got a nickel or a dime for my tooth” when the tooth fairy gave us money.

Here are the pics from Halloween.  Mark went to a great deal of trouble and lost sleep to make a tiny little Mario jack-o-latern (or “jackety-lantern,” as Anna says.)  Jason was Mario for Halloween this year… complete with spray-0n black hair and a mustache and white gloves.  Anna wanted to be a ladybug again.  We had already bought her a jackety-lantern costume, so she wore that to school one day.  There is also a pic of Jason on “crazy hair” day at his school, a pic of Jason’s smile minus one tooth, and a pic of Anna’s gummy foot.  Enjoy!

One Response to Gummy Foot

  1. Kate says:

    Wow – I don’t think I have ever looked at this blog before – yikes! The pics are so super cute – costumes (all of them) are great. Wow – one of these days I will have to arrange to be with you guys for Halloween. It looks like fun. Hope Anna will save a bloody body part (candy) for me…

Leave a Reply

