Europe Doesn’t Like Me

Well, this story really begins back in October 2005 when I had an opportunity to travel with Mark to Belgium.  Got my passport renewed, started planning where I’d go, and then found out the trip was postponed to February.  I was 5 months pregnant in October of 2005, so by February I was unable to travel. 

This time around, I was so excited that I didn’t have to worry about renewing my passport… had that from last time I tried to go.  I even had my bags 90 per cent packed when I got the email that my flight had been canceled due to the volcanic ash plume from the eruption in Iceland.  I was thinking… really? honestly?  Can this be true?  A volcano…  in Iceland is going to affect my trip to Paris?

Spending my day on the phone with American Airlines, trying to get rebooked was stressful, but I was all set for a new flight today.  But to no one’s surprise, it too has been canceled.  The next available flight won’t be until April 23rd, so I had to get a refund.

Meanwhile, it seems Mark may have taken one of the last airplanes to Brussels on Wednesday morning and he will now have to try to get himself home after his work is finished. 

But, as you can see by the title of my post, I have decided that Europe doesn’t like me.  At all.  They do NOT want me to come there.  Even went so far as to get the volcano to prevent me.  🙂

But seriously, I feel so sorry for all the people who have been sleeping in airports or train station lines just waiting to get somewhere, anywhere.  At least I am stranded at home and AA didn’t let me get on the new flight that would have had me stranded in Chicago. 

If I ever get to visit Europe, I think I will really appreciate the sights so much more than I would have otherwise… because if I ever make it there, it will be a miracle!

Leave a Reply

